About the Committee


Kitui County Marginalized Areas to get Ksh539m

By Ronald Ng’eno Marginalized areas in Kitui County have been allocated Ksh539 million to lift up basic services such as health, education and access roads. This comprises Ksh265m for financial year (FY) 2021/2022 and Ksh274m for FY2022/2023. This was revealed to the Kitui County Commissioner Erastus Mbui during a visit by the Commission on November 10, 2022. The amounts are contained in the County Allocation of Revenue Act’s (CARA), 2022 Third Schedule. During the visit, the CRA Team informed the County Commissioner that CRA is developing a Third Policy Identifying Marginalised Areas. This is in line with its mandate to ...
Read More

CRA visits three of the most marginalised sub-locations in Kajiado county

By Nelly Muse A team from the Commission visited three marginalized areas in Kajiado county in November 2022 to gain fresh insights into newly listed marginalized areas. In the Second Policy Identifying Marginalized Areas in Kenya 64 Sublocations in Kajiado County were identified as marginalized. In preparing the third policy, 29 new areas have been identified, in addition to the 47 areas. Kajiado County is vast, about 21,87km2. Located in the Rift Valley region the county borders five counties: Narok County to the West, Nakuru County, Kiambu County and Nairobi County to the North, Machakos County, Makueni County and Taita-Taveta ...
Read More

CRA teams visit Garissa, Nakuru and Elgeyo Marakwet for a fresh outlook on marginalized areas

By Caroline Kinyulusi In the week ending October 29, 2022, the Commission visited Garissa, Nakuru and Elgeyo Marakwet Counties. During these visits, the teams held discussions with officials from the County Commissioners’ offices, County Executives and Assemblies in the counties. The teams visited 10 sublocations in Garissa, three in Nakuru and in four Elgeyo Marakwet county. These have been listed as marginalised in the Commission’s Third Policy Identifying Marginalised Areas. Comm. Fouzia Abdikadir (Garissa), Comm. Peter Gachuba (Nakuru) and Comm. Prof. Peter Kimuyu (Elgeyo Marakwet) led the three teams. Residents hope for rain in Garissa County The Garissa team led ...
Read More

Commission Visit to Mandera County

The Commission received a three-day invitation to visit Mandera county and see some of the flagship projects done by the Mandera county government right from the inception of devolution. Between 12th to 15th October 2021, the Commission led by the Commission Chairperson Dr Jane Kiringai, accompanied by three Commissioners namely Prof. Edward Oyugi, Dr Irene Asienga and Ms Fouzia Abdirkadir with four other staff visited Mandera county. Mandera County Government Projects Mandera Hospital The Mandera hospital was constructed and has been operational since 2018. I t has the following facilities among others: Four bed High Dependent Unit Six bed Intensive ...
Read More

Analysis of PFM Regulations on Equalization Fund

The Commission is mandated under Article 216(4) to determine, publish and regularly review a policy setting out the criteria to identify marginalized areas for purposes of Article 204(2). In view of this mandate, the following are issues noted upon review of the Public Finance Management (Equalization Fund Administration) Regulations, 2021: No. Clause Recommendation Justification for Change 1. Regulation 2 Interpretation In the definition of the phrase “eligible county” add the word “Revenue” to Commission on Revenue…. Cite the proper name of the Commission on Revenue Allocation To correct an editorial error In the definition of the phrase “unutilized balance” Add ...
Read More

CRA Visit to Marginalized Areas in Tana River County

Tana River County takes its name from River Tana which is the longest river in Kenya. It is a county in the former Coast Province, Kenya with a population of 315,943 according to the 2019 census and an area of 35,375.8 square kilometres (13,658.7 sq. mi). The administrative headquarter of the county is Hola. The County has three sub-counties; Bura, Galole and Garsen. Tana River is one of the 14 counties listed as marginalised in the First Policy highlighting marginalised areas in Kenya. In the second policy, which identified areas as opposed to counties, Tana River has 65 areas identified ...
Read More


SECOND POLICY AND CRITERIA FOR SHARING REVENUE AMONG MARGINALISED AREAS Background The Constitution mandates the Commission to determine, publish and regularly review a policy in which it sets out the criteria by which to identify the marginalised areas for purposes of the Equalisation Fund. The first such policy was published in 2013 and applied subsequently. Factors that have Contributed to Marginalisation Two key factors contributed to marginalisation: colonial policies and practices, and inadequate post colonial corrective redistributive policies. These factors limited access to services by some ccommunities /areas. In effect, marginalisation in Kenya is largely matter of exclusion from participation ...
Read More

Call for Abstracts on Marginalization

Call for Abstracts on Marginalization  The Commission is mandated by Article 216(4) of the Constitution to determine, publish and regularly review a policy in which it sets out the criteria by which to identify marginalized areas in the country for purpose of the equalization fund. The Fund, as per Article 204(2) is to be used to provide basic services to the marginalized areas to the extent necessary to bring the quality of those services to the level generally enjoyed by the rest of the nation. In the process of developing the second policy, CRA engaged in extensive stakeholder engagements, data analysis and county visits that revealed ...
Read More


[mdocs folder="mdocs-cat-3" hide_folder="true" sort_value="modified" is_descending="true"]