The Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA), is an independent Commission set up under Article 215 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010.

Article 215 (CoK)
1) There is established the Commission on Revenue Allocation.
2) The Commission shall consist of the following persons appointed by the President;
(a) a chairperson, who shall be nominated by the President and approved by the National Assembly;
(b) two persons nominated by the political parties represented in the National Assembly according to their proportion of members in the Assembly;
(c) five persons nominated by the political parties represented in the Senate according to their proportion of members in the Senate; and
(d) the Principal Secretary in the Ministry responsible for finance.
3) The persons nominated under clause (2) shall not be members of Parliament.
4) To be qualified to be a member of the Commission under clause (2) (a), (b) or (c), a person shall have extensive professional experience in financial and economic matters.

The Commission since its inception has had two sets of Commissioners. The current commissioners term run from 2017 to 2022, they are;

Previous Commissioners - (2010 - 2016)

The former Chairman is an accountant by profession with decades of hands-on experience. He is a qualified Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants of London since 1974. He is a former Governor of Central bank of Kenya and the immediate former chairperson of the Capital Markets Authority. He has held a number of senior posts in various private sector and public companies including British American Tobacco, Lonrho and Unilever.

The former Vice chairperson holds a Masters in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Education. She has been the National Project Coordinator in Arid Lands Resource Management Project. She has wide experience in development and implementation of government policies in Arid and Semi – Arid (ASAL) regions. She has also facilitated the implementation of programmes funded by development partners such as the EU, UNDP, WFP, FAO, UNICEF and OXFAM. She is the immediate former Chairperson of the Kenya Food Security Meeting which coordinates humanitarian interventions of all actors including government donors and NGOs in the food security sector.

The former Commissioner is a holder of a Doctorate in Economic Analysis and Planning, a Masters of Arts in Development Economics and Bachelor of Arts in Economics. For about thirty years he has served as a lecturer and Associate Professor of Economics, Chairman of Economics Department (University of Nairobi), and Programmes Director at the African Centre for Economic Growth. He has also been an economic policy consultant for many international agencies and Kenyan organizations.

The former Commissioner holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and French. She has been the chairperson of the Kenyatta International Conference Centre (2008-2011) and a member of the Executive Committee of the One Shilling Foundation. She previously held senior positions in Kenya Commercial Bank for 22 years having left as Regional Manager, Coast. She is a holder of International Bankers Certificate London. Amina has a World Bank Certificate in Economic Analysis of Projects.

The former Commissioner holds a PhD in Accounting, MBA in Accounting and Finance and Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting and is a Certified Public Accountant. He holds rank of Fellow of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya and is a founder member of the Association of Financial Analysts of East Africa. Prof Kimura has held a large number of positions both in the public and private sectors including the University of Nairobi, United States International University, KASNEB and Higher Education Loans Board among others.

The former Commissioner holds a MBA from the University of Nairobi and a Bachelor of Arts from Kenyatta University. She is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Certified Public Secretary (CPS), a member of Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK) and Kenya Institute of Management (KIM). She further holds certificates from Georgia State University, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies on Fiscal Decentralization and Local Governance and from Duke University, Stanford School of Policy on Budgeting and Financial Management in the Public Sector.

The former Commissioner holds a Ph.D. in Chemistry, a Master of Science degree in Chemistry and Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry. He has held senior academic and administrative positions in Moi University, University of Nairobi; Egerton University, the Kenya National Examinations Council and the South Eastern University College (SEUCO). He has wide research and teaching experience and is a Fellow of the Kenya National Academy of Sciences (KNAS).

The former Commissioner holds a Master of Science Degree in International Banking and Finance (1983) from Herriot – Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland and a Bachelor of Commerce degree; Accounting option (1975) from the University of Nairobi and a Certificate in Money and Capital Markets Development from the prestigious New York Institute of Finance. He is a financial sector payments system development expert with thirty years experience working with the Central Bank of Kenya. He has undertaken various consultancy assignments with varied donor agencies such as UNDP, USAID among others and has been a board member at the Capital Markets Authority. He is also a member of the Kenya Institute of Directors