Launch of the Own Sources Revenue Report and Guidelines

On 26th May 2021, the Commission launched two reports featuring Counties’ Own Source Revenue (OSR) efforts titled ‘Counties Efforts towards Revenue Mobilization: A Stock of the Last Six Years’ and Own Sources Revenue Training Guidelines at the Sarova Stanley Hotel.

The report dubbed, ‘Counties Efforts Towards Revenue Mobilization: A Stock of the Last Six Years’ from the financial year 2013/14 to 2018/19, revealed that Embu and Samburu counties grew their revenue by 254% and 202% respectively whereas Busia, Wajir, Homa Bay and Mandera had declining revenue growth.

Apart from Samburu, all other counties underperformed in Revenue collection in comparison to their estimated potential. Isiolo, Laikipia, Baringo, Narok and Samburu have game parks that are managed by the County Governments hence collecting more than 42% of their estimated potential.

During the event, the Commission also launched the Own Sources Revenue Training Guidelines. The guidelines enhance the technical capacity of County Government revenue staff, supervisors, management and policymakers on the process of revenue collection, management and enhancement.

“With the prevailing fiscal challenges, counties must up their revenue collection to smooth their cash-flows and minimize dependence on the equitable share,“ the CRA Chairperson, Jane Kiringai said.

Among the dignitaries who graced the occasion were, Hon. Ndiritu Muriithi, Governor Laikipia County, Hon. Kenneth Lusaka, Speaker of the Senate, Mandisa Mashologu, UNDP representative, Josephine Kanyi, Senior Deputy Director; National Treasury and Planning, Margaret Nyakang’o, Controller of Budget, Nancy Gathungu, Auditor General, Risper Simiyu, KRA Commissioner for Domestic taxes, Githuku Mwangi, Senior Advisor to Laikipia Governor Nderitu Murithi on Economic Affairs.

“If we can improve Own Source Revenue, that will minimize the acrimony we see in the Senate in terms of getting formula for ensuring every county gets adequate money, “ Speaker Kenneth Lusaka said.

From the Commission: Dr Jane Kiringai, CRA Chairperson; Dr Irene Asienga, CRA Commissioner; Prof. Edward Oyugi, CRA Commissioner and Mr Kishanto Ole Suuji, CRA Commissioner.

The Launch was a success and say a big THANK YOU to members of the organizing committee comprising of: James Katule, Joseph Kuria,  Selly Yagan, Kennedy Murambi, Meimuna Mohamed, Jecinter Hezron, Zablon Manoah, Ronald Ng’eno, Collins Wanyoike and Joanne Murugi.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *