The Commission is mandated by Article 216(4) of the Constitution to determine, publish and regularly review a policy in which it sets out the criteria by which to identify marginalized areas in the country for purpose of the equalization fund. The Fund, as per Article 204(2) is to be used to provide basic services to the marginalized areas to the extent necessary to bring the quality of those services to the level generally enjoyed by the rest of the nation.
In the process of developing the second policy, CRA engaged in extensive stakeholder engagements, data analysis and county visits that revealed gaps in the way marginalization is understood and addressed.

In this regard, the Commission, in addition to policy recommendations identified the need to create a broader framework to collaborate with various Read More…

Division of Revenue Bill (DoRB) 2021 Passed by Senate

The Senate on 13th April, 2021 passed the Division of Revenue Bill, 2021. The Bill comprises the following allocations: Allocation ...
Read More


The Commission is participating in a study to determine the maximum revenue that can be produced by county-owned source revenue ...
Read More


County Government Treasuries are required to obtain and consider the views of CRA before sending the County Fiscal Strategy Papers ...
Read More

Recommended Revenue Laws for County Governments

Recommended Revenue Laws for County Governments The Commission on Revenue Allocation is mandated under Article 216 of the Constitution to ...
Read More

IBEC Approves Ksh. 370 Billion for Counties

The Commission participated in the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) meeting where an equitable share allocation of Sh370 billion ...
Read More

CRA Submits Recommendation for Sharing of Revenue Between National and County Governments for FY2021/2022

The Commission on Revenue Allocation has released the recommendation on the basis for equitable sharing of revenue between national and ...
Read More

In the Media

RSS In the Press on CRA
  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.